Spread the love

During this festival, one meditates on the soul’s inherent virtues in thought, speech, and action, or achieves peace of mind and heavenly Peace. The festival also seeks to renounce passions and lustful desires and achieve peace through various means and methods of observing soul harmony through the study of scriptures. Jain communities in India as well as around the world celebrate this festival every year to appease all passions and lustful desires. It gives us an expression of the soul’s perfectly purified nature which, when one experiences and realizes the essence of the soul, removes worldly obstacles and temptations and allows one to be fully immersed in eternal truth.

In other words, the natural realization of the Trinity सत्यम शिवम् सुंदरम is fully possible only through Das Rakshan Parva. This festival puts an end to all evil and gives us knowledge of eternal bliss. Also, spiritism comes to life through the celebration of this festival. When the auspicious month of Bhadrapad (भाद्र पद) comes each year, the entire Jain community celebrates this festival, high and low, rich and poor alike. Digambar and Shwetambar, both sects of the Jain community, celebrate the festival of self-enhancement with great enthusiasm. During the month of Bhadrapada Asvina, generally between August and September, the Jain community celebrates his Das Lakshan Parva not only in India but around the world. This Parva purifies our souls and deeds. It has great meaning and importance in our life. Families in the Jain community celebrate this Parva for 10 days.

During the ten days from Bhadra Padashkra Panchami to Anant Chaturdashi, Jains observe various forms of fasting and giving alms (Daan दान). They renounce certain things (Tyag-त्याग) and adhere strictly to Parva principles. Each day of Parva has its own meaning. Dash Lakshan Parva is a festival of ten virtues that Jains observe for ten days. During these 10 days, they adhere to the following 10 dharmas written in the Tattvarthdhigama Sutras. Acharya Umaswamy IX, verse 6.

The ten parvas are

उत्तम क्षमा धर्मं Forgiveness
 उत्तम मार्दव  धर्म Tenderness or humility
 उत्तम आर्जव  धर्म Honesty
उत्तम शौच  धर्म Contentment or purity
उत्तम सत्य  धर्म Truthfulness
उत्तम संयम  धर्म Self-restraint
उत्तम तप  धर्म Austerities or penance
उत्तम त्याग   धर्म Renunciation
उत्तम  अकिंचन  धर्म Non-Attachment
उत्तम  ब्रहमचर्य  धर्म Chastity


How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.